Lithium → battery chemicals

Four routes converge on two battery chemicals.

Hard rock, brine, sedimentary clay, and recycled black mass converge through recovery and concentration on battery-grade lithium carbonate and lithium hydroxide monohydrate. The bottleneck is conversion into a qualified chemical, not the presence of lithium in the ground. Of 68 tracked lines, 25 are operating and 30 are announced or advancing toward operation; later pauses remain in their event histories.

1. What this chain ends at

The endpoints are qualified battery-grade lithium carbonate and battery-grade lithium hydroxide monohydrate. Cathode powders, cells, packs, and vehicles are outside this chain.

2. Four-route convergence

Four lithium routes converge on battery-grade chemicals Hard rock, brine, and sedimentary clay enter feedstock. Recycling enters separately. Both paths reach recovery and battery-grade chemicals. Hard rockBrineSedimentary clayRecycling FeedstockRecovery & concentrationBattery-grade chemicalsRecycling Endpoints: carbonate + hydroxide monohydrate

The presentation is hand-positioned. A structural regression requires its stages, nodes, route predicates, edges, and endpoints to equal CHAIN_CONFIG exactly.

3. World mine production

USGS reports mine production in metric tonnes of lithium content. The 2025 world total is 290,000 t Li. The U.S. value is withheld by USGS "to avoid disclosing company proprietary data": commercial-scale U.S. production comes from a single operation, Albemarle's Silver Peak brine site in Nevada, so a national total would reveal one company's figure (MCS 2026, p. 118). The scale is public in the producer's own filing: Albemarle's fiscal-2025 Form 10-K (Feb. 11, 2026) reports Silver Peak production of about 1,000 t of lithium in each of 2023, 2024, and 2025 (metal basis, rounded), roughly 5,300 t LCE (derived, lithium-conversions-v1) and about 0.3% of the 2025 world total.

Country2025 mine productionBasis
United StatesWithheldlithium content
Argentina23,000 tlithium content
Australia92,000 tlithium content
Brazil12,000 tlithium content
Canada5,600 tlithium content
Chile56,000 tlithium content
China62,000 tlithium content
Mali9,400 tlithium content
Portugal380 tlithium content
Zimbabwe28,000 tlithium content
World total290,000 tlithium content

4. World reserves

USGS estimates 37,000,000 t of world reserves on a lithium-content basis for 2025.

Country2025 reservesBasis
United States4,400,000 tlithium content
Argentina4,400,000 tlithium content
Australia6,840,000 tlithium content
Brazil540,000 tlithium content
Canada1,600,000 tlithium content
Chile9,200,000 tlithium content
China4,600,000 tlithium content
Mali370,000 tlithium content
Portugal60,000 tlithium content
Zimbabwe500,000 tlithium content
Other countries2,400,000 tlithium content
World total37,000,000 tlithium content

5. USGS 2020 selected-sites dataset

The release contains 21 records, matching USGS's description of approximately 20 selected U.S. sites. The threshold describes the dataset selection, not an economic reserve test.

USGS 2020 selected lithium sites map
USGS 2020 selected-sites dataset · sites above a 15,000-t contained-lithium cutoff · Arizona, Colorado, New England, New Mexico, South Dakota, and Wyoming excluded · released June 1, 2020. State maps and site records.

6. Earth MRI prospectivity overlay

Earth MRI identifies 88 lithium-relevant focus areas where mapping or geophysics may improve geological knowledge. Prospectivity is not a resource estimate, a discovery, or evidence of economic extraction.

Earth MRI lithium prospectivity focus areas and selected lithium sites
88 official Earth MRI focus-area polygons. Orange areas show prospectivity, not deposits or resources. Deposit dots retain the separate selection scope: USGS 2020 selected-sites dataset · sites above a 15,000-t contained-lithium cutoff · Arizona, Colorado, New England, New Mexico, South Dakota, and Wyoming excluded · released June 1, 2020.

See the focus-area table.

7. Facilities by line stage and output

Feedstock (4)

Facility lineOutputCurrent state
Kathleen Valley Lithium Project qualifying line
Australia
Spodumene ConcentrateOperating
Kings Mountain Spodumene Concentrate Project qualifying line
United States
Spodumene ConcentratePermitted
Nemaska Whabouchi Spodumene Concentrator qualifying line
Canada
Spodumene ConcentrateUnder construction
Pilgangoora Spodumene Concentrate Expansion qualifying line
Australia
Spodumene ConcentrateOperating

Recovery & concentration (8)

Facility lineOutputCurrent state
Albemarle Salar de Atacama Lithium Recovery qualifying line
Chile
Lithium Chloride IntermediateOperating
Altoandinos ENAMI-Rio Tinto Atomic Lithium Project qualifying line
Chile
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionAnnounced
COALIA Thetford Spodumene Demonstration qualifying line
Canada
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionOperating
Cross Lanes Geothermal Lithium Pilot qualifying line
United Kingdom
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionCancelled
E3 Lithium Clearwater Demonstration qualifying line
Canada
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionOperating
Hombre Muerto Oeste Lithium Project qualifying line
Argentina
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionUnder construction
Maricunga Codelco-Rio Tinto Atomic Lithium Project qualifying line
Chile
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionAnnounced
SQM-NovaAndino Salar de Atacama Lithium Recovery qualifying line
Chile
Lithium Chloride IntermediateOperating

Battery-grade chemicals (43)

Facility lineOutputCurrent state
Ageli Alsace Geothermal Lithium Project qualifying line
France
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Albemarle Kemerton Lithium Hydroxide Plant qualifying line
Australia
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateOperating
Albemarle La Negra Lithium Conversion Plant qualifying line
Chile
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Argosy Rincon Lithium Project qualifying line
Argentina
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Project ATLiS Lithium Hydroxide Plant qualifying line
United States
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateAnnounced
Cauchari-Olaroz Lithium Carbonate Operation qualifying line
Argentina
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Centenario-Ratones Lithium Carbonate Operation qualifying line
Argentina
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Cinovec Integrated Lithium Project qualifying line
Czechia
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateAnnounced
Covalent Lithium Mt Holland-Kwinana Atomic Project qualifying line
Australia
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateOperating
Trelavour Lithium Project qualifying line
United Kingdom
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateAnnounced
EMILI Beauvoir Lithium Project qualifying line
France
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydratePermitted
Fenix Lithium Carbonate Operation qualifying line
Argentina
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Frontier Lithium Thunder Bay Conversion Facility qualifying line
Canada
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateAnnounced
GALLICAM Battery-Material Recovery Project qualifying line
France
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionUnder construction
Green Lithium Teesside Refinery qualifying line
United Kingdom
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydratePermitted
Guben Lithium Hydroxide Converter qualifying line
Germany
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydratePermitted
Imerys British Lithium Pilot and Proposed Plant qualifying line
United Kingdom
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Keliber Lithium Integrated Project qualifying line
Finland
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateUnder construction
Liberty Owl Smackover Lithium Project qualifying line
United States
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionAnnounced
Lift One Estarreja Lithium Refinery qualifying line
Portugal
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionAnnounced
Mangrove Lithium Delta Refinery qualifying line
Canada
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateCommissioned
Nemaska Lithium Becancour Conversion Plant qualifying line
Canada
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateUnder construction
NORAM Richmond Lithium Hydroxide Demonstration Plant qualifying line
Canada
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateUnder construction
Olaroz Lithium Carbonate Operation qualifying line
Argentina
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
POSCO-Pilbara Gwangyang Lithium Hydroxide Plant qualifying line
South Korea
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateCommissioned
Prairie Lithium Saskatchewan DLE Facility qualifying line
Canada
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Rhyolite Ridge Lithium Carbonate Project qualifying line
United States
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Rio Tinto Rincon Battery-Grade Lithium Carbonate Project qualifying line
Argentina
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Rock Tech Red Rock Lithium Converter qualifying line
Canada
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateAnnounced
Sal de Los Angeles Lithium Project qualifying line
Argentina
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Sal de Oro Lithium Carbonate Line qualifying line
Argentina
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Sal de Oro Lithium Hydroxide Line qualifying line
Argentina
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateOperating
Sal de Vida Lithium Carbonate Project qualifying line
Argentina
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Saltworks Richmond Lithium Demonstration Facility qualifying line
Canada
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Silver Peak Lithium Carbonate Operation qualifying line
United States
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
SQM Salar del Carmen Lithium Chemical Plant qualifying line
Chile
Battery-Grade Lithium Carbonate; Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateOperating
South West Arkansas Lithium Project qualifying line
United States
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonatePermitted
Tennessee Lithium Hydroxide Plant qualifying line
United States
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateCancelled
Thacker Pass Phase 1 Lithium Carbonate Project qualifying line
United States
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Tianqi Lithium Kwinana Refinery qualifying line
Australia
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateOperating
Tres Quebradas Lithium Carbonate Project qualifying line
Argentina
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateOperating
Toyota Tsusho Lithium Naraha Plant qualifying line
Japan
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateIdled
Viridian Lithium Lauterbourg Refinery qualifying line
France
Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide MonohydrateAnnounced

Recycling (13)

Facility lineOutputCurrent state
ABTC Sparks Battery Recycling Facility qualifying line
United States
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionUnder construction
ACT3 EcoCathode black-mass refining line
United Kingdom
Natural graphite concentrateFinanced
ACT3 separated-lithium recovery line
United Kingdom
Enriched Lithium Process SolutionAnnounced
Closed-loop hydrometallurgical black-mass recycling
Finland
Natural graphite concentrate; Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionOperating
Li-Cycle Rochester Hub qualifying line
United States
Battery-Grade Lithium CarbonateUnder construction
Mitsubishi Materials Onahama Lithium Recycling Pilot qualifying line
Japan
Technical-Grade Lithium CarbonateCommissioned
Nippon Chemical Industrial Iwaki Lithium Recovery Pilot qualifying line
Japan
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionCommissioned
NorthCYCLE Battery Recycling Project qualifying line
Sweden
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionAnnounced
EV battery pre-processing and hydrometallurgy pilots
France
Natural graphite concentrate; Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionCommissioned
POLVOLT Battery Recycling Project qualifying line
Poland
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionAnnounced
Portovesme Critical Raw Materials Hub qualifying line
Italy
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionAnnounced
POSCO HY Clean Metal Gwangyang Recycling Plant qualifying line
South Korea
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionOperating
SungEel Hydro Center 3 Saemangeum qualifying line
South Korea
Recycled Lithium-Bearing Process SolutionOperating

8. Capacity staircase

Raw source units and bases come first. Product totals include commercial cohorts only. Pilot and demonstration lines remain visible in their records but stay out of totals. Total and incremental phases are shown rather than silently combined.

Line / phaseSource valueBasisProduct cohort
Argosy Rincon Lithium Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
12,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Carbonate
Project ATLiS Lithium Hydroxide Plant
current-source phase · total · commercial
20,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
Trelavour Lithium Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
10,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
Green Lithium Teesside Refinery
current-source phase · total · commercial
50,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
Guben Lithium Hydroxide Converter
current-source phase · total · commercial
24,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
Keliber Lithium Integrated Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
15,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
Kings Mountain Spodumene Concentrate Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
350,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massSpodumene Concentrate
Nemaska Lithium Becancour Conversion Plant
current-source phase · total · commercial
34,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
POSCO-Pilbara Gwangyang Lithium Hydroxide Plant
current-source phase · total · commercial
43,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
Prairie Lithium Saskatchewan DLE Facility
current-source phase · total · commercial
150 tonnes LCE per yearLithium carbonate equivalentBattery-Grade Lithium Carbonate
Rio Tinto Rincon Battery-Grade Lithium Carbonate Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
53,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Carbonate
Sal de Vida Lithium Carbonate Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
15,000 tonnes LCE per yearLithium carbonate equivalentBattery-Grade Lithium Carbonate
SQM Salar del Carmen Lithium Chemical Plant
shared carbonate-conversion train · total · commercial
210,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massCombined swing: Battery-Grade Lithium Carbonate + Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
South West Arkansas Lithium Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
22,500 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Carbonate
Tennessee Lithium Hydroxide Plant
current-source phase · total · commercial
30,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate
Thacker Pass Phase 1 Lithium Carbonate Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
40,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Carbonate
Tres Quebradas Lithium Carbonate Project
current-source phase · total · commercial
20,000 metric tonnes per yearProduct massTechnical-Grade Lithium Carbonate
Viridian Lithium Lauterbourg Refinery
current-source phase · total · commercial
28,500 metric tonnes per yearProduct massBattery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate

Commercial product cohorts

Non-allocated combined cohort: SQM Salar del Carmen Lithium Chemical Plant, 210,000 metric tonnes/year shared across Battery-Grade Lithium Carbonate and Battery-Grade Lithium Hydroxide Monohydrate. It is excluded from individual product totals.

Optional derived LCE view

Derived with lithium-conversions-v1 using CIAAW-2024 formula weights. Product-mass conversions use the pure-compound convention. Each derived value retains its source value.

  • Argosy Rincon Lithium Project: 12,000 t/y LCE from 12,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Project ATLiS Lithium Hydroxide Plant: 17,608.31 t/y LCE from 20,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Trelavour Lithium Project: 8,804.16 t/y LCE from 10,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Green Lithium Teesside Refinery: 44,020.78 t/y LCE from 50,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Guben Lithium Hydroxide Converter: 21,129.97 t/y LCE from 24,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Keliber Lithium Integrated Project: 13,206.23 t/y LCE from 15,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Nemaska Lithium Becancour Conversion Plant: 29,934.13 t/y LCE from 34,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • POSCO-Pilbara Gwangyang Lithium Hydroxide Plant: 37,857.87 t/y LCE from 43,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Prairie Lithium Saskatchewan DLE Facility: 150 t/y LCE from 150 tonnes LCE per year (Lithium carbonate equivalent)
  • Rio Tinto Rincon Battery-Grade Lithium Carbonate Project: 53,000 t/y LCE from 53,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Sal de Vida Lithium Carbonate Project: 15,000 t/y LCE from 15,000 tonnes LCE per year (Lithium carbonate equivalent)
  • South West Arkansas Lithium Project: 22,500 t/y LCE from 22,500 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Tennessee Lithium Hydroxide Plant: 26,412.47 t/y LCE from 30,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Thacker Pass Phase 1 Lithium Carbonate Project: 40,000 t/y LCE from 40,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Tres Quebradas Lithium Carbonate Project: 20,000 t/y LCE from 20,000 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)
  • Viridian Lithium Lauterbourg Refinery: 25,091.85 t/y LCE from 28,500 metric tonnes per year (Product mass)

Convertible commercial total: 386,715.77 t/y LCE. Non-allocated swing capacity is omitted because its carbonate/hydroxide split is unknown.

Unresolved basis, omitted from totals

9. Annual U.S. price datum

$9,000 per metric tonne in 2025: Battery grade Lithium carbonate, United States. USGS labels it real (2025 dollars). Delivery basis: Not specified by USGS. Contract/spot basis: USGS annual average; source footnote covers spot and long-term contract assessments, while the narrative describes fixed contracts.

USGS labels the series real. The 2025 observation is recorded in 2025 dollars; USGS does not publish a more specific delivery basis in the lithium summary. Source: U.S. Geological Survey, Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026, LITHIUM, pp. 118-119, salient statistics and price footnote 2.

10. Agency programs

Business Finland

Finland's national funding agency for innovation and investment. It granted EUR 84.6 million to Fortum Battery Recycling in July 2025 toward expanding black-mass processing at the Harjavalta hydrometallurgical plant, payable against expenses incurred and subject to continued project progress.

DOE Loan Programs Office - Advanced Technology Vehicles Manufacturing (ATVM) Loan Program

The Department of Energy's Loan Programs Office direct-loan program for advanced technology vehicles manufacturing, which finances battery and battery-materials projects. Its July 2022 loan to Syrah Technologies for the Vidalia active anode material facility was the first ATVM loan since 2011; a December 2024 conditional commitment of up to US$754.8 million to NOVONIX for a second Chattanooga synthetic graphite plant has not closed.

Global Partnerships Initiative

NRCan program funding critical-minerals projects with allied-partnership significance; conditionally approved support for Ucore's Kingston refinery.

DRIVE35

UK programme backing zero-emission vehicle supply chains; issued an Offer in Principle toward Ionic Technologies' commercial magnet-recycling plant.

11. Opportunities

DOE BIL Battery Materials Processing and Battery Manufacturing FOA, Round 1 (DE-FOA-0002678)

The first Bipartisan Infrastructure Law battery supply-chain solicitation under IIJA Section 40207, issued by DOE's Office of Manufacturing and Energy Supply Chains with EERE and administered through NETL. Grants.gov records $3.1 billion in estimated funding across an anticipated 34 awards, posted May 2, 2022 and closing July 1, 2022 after a February 11, 2022 notice of intent (DE-FOA-0002677). Selections were announced October 19, 2022 and are the graphite chain's founding federal awards: Anovion LLC (35,000 tpa synthetic graphite anode material), NOVONIX Anode Materials LLC (30,000 t/yr synthetic graphite, Chattanooga), and Syrah Technologies LLC (Vidalia natural-graphite active anode material expansion) were all selected in the 'Materials Separation & Processing (Anode Materials)' supply-chain segment. DOE's program page now reports $1.82 billion awarded to 14 round-1 projects but publishes no award dates, and the round-1 selections detail page returns HTTP 404, so this record's verified lifecycle ends at selected.

DOE BIL Battery Materials Processing and Battery Manufacturing FOA, Round 2 (DE-FOA-0003099)

Round 2 of DOE's IIJA Section 40207(b)/(c) battery supply-chain grants, issued by the Office of Manufacturing and Energy Supply Chains through NETL. Grants.gov records $3.5 billion in estimated funding across an anticipated 41 awards, posted November 15, 2023 and closing March 19, 2024 after an August 31, 2023 notice of intent (DE-FOA-0003098) and a January 9, 2024 concept-paper deadline. One of the eight areas of interest — AOI 4, 'Commercial-scale Domestic Manufacturing of Battery Cathodes and Anodes' — is the graphite-relevant topic, with an anticipated 4 to 8 awards of $50 million to $300 million federal share each. DOE announced selections on September 20, 2024: over $3 billion for 25 projects across 14 states. A DOE project fact sheet for the program covers Urbix, Inc.'s $124,638,300 federal cost share for a Muscle Shoals, Alabama plant producing roughly 10,000 tonnes per year of coated spherical purified graphite.

DOE IIJA Section 40207 Battery Materials Processing & Battery Manufacturing and Recycling NOFO, Round 3 (DE-FOA-0003585)

The third round of DOE's IIJA Section 40207 battery supply-chain grants, issued March 13, 2026 by the Manufacturing Deployment Office within the Office of Critical Minerals and Energy Innovation and administered through NETL. Up to $500 million was made available with a $50 million award floor and $100 million ceiling; letters of intent were requested by March 27, 2026 and full applications were due April 24, 2026. The NOFO's own eXCHANGE description names graphite among the critical minerals and materials needed for the battery sector, and the January 2025 notice of intent anticipated 'Cathode and Anode Materials' as a Round 3 topic area, with up to 14 grants of two-to-five-year performance. The solicitation closed on schedule; no selections had been announced as of August 13, 2026.

12. Government instruments ledger

InstrumentTypeAmount
DRIVE35 Scale-Up Fund GBP 18.5 Million Grant to Altilium for the ACT3 Plant in Plymouth (April 2026)Grant£18.5M
ENAMI-Rio Tinto Altoandinos Executed PartnershipEquityNot disclosed or not allocated
CORFO-Albemarle Salar de Atacama Contract AmendmentLeaseNot disclosed or not allocated
CORFO SQM-Codelco Atacama Continuity ContractsLeaseNot disclosed or not allocated
NRCan GPI Executed Contribution Agreement for E3 ClearwaterGrantC$36.51M
Business Finland EUR 84.6 Million Grant to Fortum Battery Recycling for the Harjavalta Expansion (July 2025)Grant€84.6M
National Reconstruction Fund Kathleen Valley Equity InvestmentEquityA$50M
DOE Award for Kings Mountain Lithium Processing ProjectGrant$150M
DOE ATVM Closed Loan to Li-Cycle Rochester HubLoan$445M
Codelco-Rio Tinto Maricunga Signed CEOL and PartnershipEquityNot disclosed or not allocated
Quebec Final Nemaska Lithium Equity InvestmentEquity$200M
Export Finance Australia Pilgangoora Expansion LoanLoanA$125M
NAIF Pilgangoora P680 Expansion LoanLoanA$125M
NRCan CMRDD Contribution to Prairie LithiumGrantC$324.5K
DOE Title 17 Closed Loan Guarantee for Rhyolite RidgeLoan guarantee$968M
RIGI Resolution 825/2026 for Cauchari-Olaroz ExpansionRegulatory incentive approvalNot disclosed or not allocated
RIGI Resolution 431/2026 for Fenix ExpansionRegulatory incentive approvalNot disclosed or not allocated
RIGI Resolution 1271/2025 for Hombre Muerto OesteRegulatory incentive approvalNot disclosed or not allocated
RIGI Resolution 735/2025 for RinconRegulatory incentive approvalNot disclosed or not allocated
DOE SWA Lithium Federal Cost-Share SelectionGrant$225M
DOE Selection for Tennessee LithiumGrant$141.7M
DOE ATVM Closed Loan to Lithium Nevada for Thacker PassLoan$1.97B

13. Policy timeline

BIS DPAS Directive Allocation Order — domestic sales requirement for black mass (2026)

A temporary final rule under Defense Production Act section 101 requires U.S. persons selling black mass — shredded lithium-ion battery scrap whose cathode material may contain lithium and whose anode material may contain graphite — to allocate 100 percent of monthly sales to U.S. persons from 27 August 2026, unless BIS grants an adjustment or exception. The order directly governs a shared graphite/lithium recycling feedstock; it restricts where black mass can be sold, not how it is processed.

Current recorded event: effective, Aug 27, 2026

    US Treasury treatment of graphite as an impracticable-to-trace battery material under the section 30D foreign-entity-of-concern rules

    Treasury and the IRS decided in final regulations published 6 May 2024 (TD 9995) that graphite contained in anode materials, both natural and synthetic, is an 'identified impracticable-to-trace battery material'. For new clean vehicles whose qualified manufacturer files its periodic written report before 1 January 2027, the foreign-entity-of-concern due-diligence requirement may be satisfied by excluding those materials, and they may be excluded from the determination of whether a battery cell is FEOC-compliant. Treasury's stated reasons are the commingling of natural and synthetic graphite and the difficulty of tracing synthetic graphite fully upstream. The companion section 45X final regulations (TD 10010, 28 October 2024) define graphite as an applicable critical mineral when purified to a minimum 99.9 percent graphitic carbon by mass.

    Current recorded event: amended, Dec 27, 2024

      U.S. section 30D/FEOC and section 45X rules for lithium feedstocks and chemicals

      Treasury and IRS final regulations directly govern lithium extraction, processing and recycling procurement chains under section 30D and define qualifying lithium under section 45X as lithium converted to lithium carbonate or lithium hydroxide, or purified to at least 99.9% lithium by mass.

      Current recorded event: amended, Dec 27, 2024

        All policy actions.

        14. Briefing

        15. Definitions

        Contained lithium
        The mass of elemental Li within an ore, concentrate, solution, or compound.
        LCE
        Lithium-carbonate equivalent. One tonne of Li equals 5.323343 tonnes LCE under lithium-conversions-v1.
        Product mass
        The gross mass of the named carbonate, hydroxide monohydrate, concentrate, or other product.
        Current state
        The latest effective line event, paired with a dated state-verification claim and stale flag where its TTL has expired.

        16. Sources, definitions, and update history

        The numerical backbone is USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries 2026, pp. 118-119. Deposits use the USGS 2020 selected-sites release. Facility, program, opportunity, instrument, and policy facts link to their own record-level primary sources.

        Definitions and eligibility rules are in the methodology and glossary. Later events are appended rather than replacing history; see the change log. Hub assembled August 18, 2026.